Prologue         Blood on the Barbary Coast

Book 1
The Heartland

1                     A Precipitous Departure
2                     Stranger on a Train
3                     Lady Desperado
4                     A Rendezvous at the Wash Pump
5                     Pretty May
6                     The Law of Gum Shan
7                     Echo Canyon
8                     A Brown Tweed Suit
9                     At Miss Osmond’s Hotel
10                   Horseback Ride
11                   Neither the Dead nor the Living
12                   Arrival, with Revelations

Book 2
Jewel of the Golden West

1                     Endings and Beginnings
2                     An Evening’s Perambulations
3                     Jenny
4                     The Sea Nymph
5                     Signs of a Struggle
6                     Bloody Glove
7                     Lord Carnation Hands
8                     Headlines
9                     A Sincere Proposal, with Improprieties
10                   Notorious
11                   The Science of Wu Hsing
12                   The Consequences of Becoming Notorious
13                   At the Temple of Supreme Pleasure
14                   Cumshaw
15                    Peace of Mind
16                    Puzzles
17                    Anomalies Abound
18                    At the Cobweb Palace
19                    Confessions
20                    The Long-Suffering Sweetheart
21                    Big Mike
22                    Secrets Hidden Within
23                    Napa
24                    Mysteries and Ciphers
25                    The Midsummer Jamboree

Book 3
The Celestial Kingdom

1                     A Grave Undertaking
2                     A Rescue, Earnestly Attempted
3                     A Momentous Decision
4                     At the House of Double Happiness
5                     An Expedition to the Countryside
6                     Boxers and Bones
7                     Promises
8                    T’ai Chi

Book 4

1                    The Girls
2                    What He Did With Her
3                    Celestial Girl

Celestial Girl (A Lily Modjeska Mystery)

Lily is not quite a typical woman in Toledo, Ohio, 1896. She may be repressed and dependent on her husband, but she supports the vote for women and has a mind of her own. But when Johnny Pentland is found dead at a notorious brothel, Lily discovers her husband is not the man she thought he was.

Pursued by Pentland’s enemies, Lily embarks on a journey that will take her across the country to San Francisco and across the ocean to Imperial China as she unravels a web of murder and corruption reaching from the opium dens of Chinatown to the mansions of Nob Hill.

Her journey becomes one of the heart when she crosses paths with Jackson Tremaine, a debonair, worldly-wise physician. Lily and Jackson begin a conflicted, passionate relationship as they encounter the mysterious Celestial Girl and her dangerous entourage.

Celestial Girl, Book 1: The Heartland (A Lily Modjeska Mystery) is on Nook, Kindle, and UK Kindle! Lily flees Toledo on the Overland train. She must share a seat with Jackson Tremaine and befriends the Celestial Girl, the daughter of a Chinese dignitary. But appearances are not what they seem.

New! Celestial Girl, Book 2: Jewel of the Golden West (A Lily Modjeska Mystery) is on Nook, Kindle, and UK Kindle! Lily and Jackson arrive in San Francisco and discover the murder of an immigration official connected with the Celestial Girl. She and Jackson are compelled into a dangerous murder investigation. As they begin a passionate affair, a contract for murder is taken out on Lily’s life.

Coming soon! Celestial Girl, Book 3: The Celestial Kingdom, which will include Book 3: The Celestial Kingdom, and Book 4: Terminus. The Omnibus Edition will include all four books.

Of The Gilded Age, the New York Times Book Review said, “A winning mixture of intelligence and passion.”

From the author of The Garden of Abracadabra, Volume 1 of the Abracadabra Series, on Nook, Kindle, and UK Kindle, Summer of Love, A Time Travel (a Philip K. Dick Award Finalist and San Francisco Chronicle Recommended Book) on Nook, Kindle, and UK Kindle, and The Gilded Age, A Time Travel (a New York Times Notable Book and New York Public Library Recommended Book) on Nook, Kindle, and UK Kindle.

Visit me at Lisa Mason’s Official Website for books, ebooks, stories, and screenplays, forthcoming projects and more. And on my Facebook Author Page, on Amazon, on my Facebook Profile Page, on Goodreads, on LinkedIn, on Twitter at @lisaSmason, and at Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America.

If you enjoy a work, please “Like” it, add some stars, write a review on Amazon or Barnes & Noble, and spread the word to your friends. Your response really matters.

More bargains for your reading enjoyment:

Urban fantasy! The Garden of Abracadabra is available in three affordable installments. Begin with Book 1: Life’s Journey on Nook, Kindle, and UK Kindle.

The Bantam classic, Summer of Love is available in seven affordable installments. Begin at the beginning on Nook, Kindle, or UK Kindle

Suspense! Don’t miss SHAKEN, my sexy thriller, an ebook adaptation of “Deus Ex Machina” published in Asimov’s Science Fiction Magazine, republished in Transcendental Tales (Donning Press), and translated and republished worldwide, is on Nook, Kindle. and UK Kindle.

Literary science fiction! And don’t miss TOMORROW’S CHILD, The Story That Sold To The Movies. This began as a medical documentary, then got published in Omni Magazine as a lead story, and finally sold to Universal Pictures, where the project is now in development. On Nook, Kindle, and UK Kindle.

Thank you for your readership!